William C. Carter Award

The William C. Carter Award is presented annually since 1997 to recognize a junior researcher who has made a significant contribution to the field of dependable systems and networks through graduate dissertation research.

The award is sponsored by the IEEE Technical Committee on Dependable Computing and Fault-Tolerance and the IFIP Working Group on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance (WG 10.4) in memory of William C. Carter, a key personality in the development of dependable computing and simultaneously a lifelong promoter of junior researchers.

To qualify, a paper with the student as the first author based on the student’s PhD dissertation must have been submitted and accepted for presentation at DSN 2013 as a regular paper. Both current and former graduate students, no more than two years past completion of their dissertations, are eligible.

All nominated submissions accepted as regular papers to DSN in both the PDS and DCCS tracks are evaluated by the Steering Committee of the Conference.

To qualify, a paper must present an outstanding contribution. Nominations should include:

  • The name of the student, paper title, track (DCCS or PDS), and paper submission ID.
  • PhD defense (or expected defense) date of student, confirming no more than two years have passed since dissertation completion as of December 2012.
  • A single paragraph explaining why this candidate is deserving of the award.

Nominations should be sent to the PC Chair of the respective track until the following deadlines:

DCCS track:
  • Deadline: 3 March 2013
  • PC chair: George Candea, EPFL, Switzerland
PDS track:
  • Deadline: 10 March 2013
  • PC chair: Peter Kemper, College of William and Mary, USA